Patient discussions

As soon as the patient is diagnosed with celiac disease, they should be advised to avoid all products containing wheat, rye, barley, and spelt. National Digestive Diseases Information Clearinghouse: celiac disease external link opens in a new window Gluten-free drugs external link opens in a new window National Celiac Association external link opens in a new window Although not technically a trigger for celiac disease, oats should be avoided at the outset as many products are contaminated with wheat and a minority of celiac patients may be oat-intolerant.

The gluten-free diet is demanding, especially at the outset, and referral to both a dietitian skilled in celiac disease and a local support/advocacy group is strongly recommended. Patients should be reassured that adopting the diet is a challenge and mistakes and difficulties adjusting early on are common.

Use of this content is subject to our disclaimer