As soon as the patient is diagnosed with coeliac disease, they should be advised to avoid all products containing wheat, rye, barley, and spelt. National Digestive Diseases Information Clearinghouse: celiac disease external link opens in a new window National Celiac Association external link opens in a new window Although not technically a trigger for coeliac disease, oats should be avoided at the outset as many products are contaminated with wheat and a minority of coeliac patients may be oat-intolerant. The gluten-free diet is demanding, especially at the outset, and referral to both a dietician skilled in coeliac disease and a local support/advocacy group is strongly recommended. Patients should be reassured that adopting the diet is a challenge and mistakes and difficulties adjusting early on are common.
Use of this content is subject to our disclaimer